Studies In Planning - VA Cooperative Studies Program (CSP)
Attention A T users. To access the menus on this page please perform the following steps. 1. Please switch auto forms mode to off. 2. Hit enter to expand a main menu option (Health, Benefits, etc). 3. To enter and activate the submenu links, hit the down arrow. You will now be able to tab or arrow up or down through the submenu options to access/activate the submenu links.

VA Cooperative Studies Program (CSP)

Menu
Menu

Quick Links

Veterans Crisis Line Badge
My healthevet badge
EBenefits Badge
 

Studies In Planning

When studies are in the “planning” phase, VA researchers and CSP experts hold planning meetings during which they jointly design the study and develop a full study protocol. Next, a scientific committee–called the Cooperative Studies Scientific Evaluation Committee–reviews and critiques the proposal, and funding is provided for only the most relevant and highest quality research.   

CSP 2013
Topic: Seizures
Coordinating Center: Palo Alto

Study Proponents:
Martin Salinsky, MD
martin.salinsky@va.gov

W. Curt LaFrance, Jr, MD, MPH
william.lafrance@va.gov

CSP 2018
Topic: Traumatic Brain Injury
Coordinating Center: West Haven

Study Proponents:
Jose M. Garcia, MD, PhD
jose.garcia@va.gov

Ricardo E. Jorge, MD
Ricardo.jorge@va.gov

CSP 2019
Topic: Skin Cancer
Coordinating Center: Perry Point

Study Proponents:
Martin A. Weinstock, MD, PhD
martin.weinstock@va.gov

Robert Dellavalle, MD, PhD
robert.dellavalle@va.gov

CSP 2020
Topic: Cataract Surgery
Coordinating Center: Hines

Study Proponent:
Glenn C. Cockerham, MD
glenn.cockerham@va.gov

CSP 2022
Topic: Bladder Cancer
Coordinating Center: Boston

Study Proponent:
Joshua J. Meeks, MD, PhD
joshua.meeks@va.gov

CSP 2023
Topic: Liver Cancer
Coordinating Center: West Haven

Study Proponent:
George Ioannou, MD, MSc
george.ioannou@va.gov

CSP 2024
Topic: Ischemic Heart Disease
Coordinating Center: Perry Point

Study Proponent:
Marco A. Zenati, MD, MSc
marco.zenati@va.gov

CSP 2025
Topic: Heart Failure
Coordinating Center: West Haven

Study Proponent:
Scott L. Hummel, MD, MS
scott.hummel@va.gov

CSP 2026
Topic: Kidney Disease
Coordinating Center: Boston

Study Proponents:
Areef Ishani, MD
areef.ishani@va.gov

James Kaufman, MD
james.kaufman@va.gov  

CSP 2029
Topic: SARS-CoV-2 Infection
Coordinating Center: Hines

Study Proponents:
David Schwartz, MD
david.schwartz3@va.gov

Michael Hagan, MD, PhD
michael.hagan@va.gov  




Updated June 2020

Click for back to
Home Page.